Steveston Salmon Festival
“A bad day of fishing is better than a good day of work.” -Author Unknown
Steveston, a historic village on the southwest tip of Lulu Island in Richmond, is named for Manoah Steves. In 1878, Manoah and Martha Steves and their six children were the first non-Aboriginal family to settle in the area after purchasing 121 hectares of land north of Garry Point. In 1880, Manoah’s son William purchased land to develop a townsite known as Steves. By 1890, Steves was known as Steveston and had a church, hotels, retail stores, an opera house, a wharf, and Lulu Island’s first hospital and newspaper.
Since 1945 the village has hosted the annual Steveston Salmon Festival on July 1 to celebrate Canada’s birthday and the rich heritage of the community. More than 70,000 people come from Richmond and Metro Vancouver to spend Canada Day in Steveston. The festival begins at 10:00 AM with a parade of more than 100 entries including celebrities, community groups, floats, marching bands, politicians, vintage vehicles and much more.
The Opening Ceremonies are held at noon on the main stage with dignitaries, speeches and the singing of O Canada. After the official opening, entertainers take to the stage. Festival highlights include an art show and exhibit, a carnival, children’s festival, craft fair, food fair, Japanese cultural show, martial arts demonstrations, a trade show, and youth rock fest. The main attraction is the salmon barbecue where more than 1,200 pounds of wild salmon filets are grilled over open fire pits.